Love, Hate & Other Filters - Samira Ahmed
Love, Hate & Other Filters - Samira Ahmed
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Love, Hate & Other Filters - Samira Ahmed
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Love, Hate & Other Filters - Samira Ahmed

Love, Hate & Other Filters - Samira Ahmed

Regular price
$8.00
Sale price
$8.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included.

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape—perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.

There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs.

Please note this copy has light scuffs on the edges of the covers.


ISBN: 9781471407147

Size: Paperback, 255 pages

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Published: 2018